Rose of Jericho

The Rose of Jericho is a very peculiar plant. I must say that I’ve found it a fascinating little dried curio.  It is reputed that folk practitioners and even Christians pray while using this plant, also known as “The Resurrection Plant.”

It is relatively simple to bring the plant back to life:  just place the dried up plant in a shallow dish of water.  Be sure to keep the water refilled for it will drink it up pretty quickly!

Very soon, you’ll notice the plant will begin to open up and as the days go by will be green again.

I have read various accounts that stated how folks would sprinkle the house with the water.  Also, that some business owners might also sprinkle the water across the doorstep of a business in order so that the business shall grow like the Rose of Jericho does.

A few years ago, I decided to give this a try and see if I could utilize the Rose of Jericho in magic.  Sadly, neither working I did with two of them came to fruition – however, the plant seemed to grow beautifully!

I could analyze a billion and one reasons why the workings did not come into fruition and the reasons why it did not work, but it comes down to power….. I believe using the Rose of Jericho is more in line with prayer than it is casting a spell.  It did not inspire or encourage enough power to be released from my body in order for the workings to be successful as do other more traditional, fundamental methods of spell-making.   (It is kind of hard to get excited over the plant and it is not that awe inspiring I guess) 

Maybe it would be a good method of prayer to use if you had a business?  I personally don’t own a business, so I will have to leave that to other Wiccans to tell me if they have had success with it in this aspect.

You may be wondering why I decided to share a little magical failure, and I decided to blog about this here because I think it is fundamentally important to record our successes and our failures.  Not one of us is infallible.

The spell I wrote for the Rose of Jericho failed for me, though, it is possible that a spell could work for you using a Rose of Jericho.  If it does work for you, I know I would love to hear about it!

Celebrate your successes and learn from your failures.  Either side has a story to tell.

Blessed Be!

Leave a Reply

